LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVES

1899 West Winchester Road Libertyville, Illinois 60048 847-968-3110 • Fax: 847-549-7079 www.LCFPD.org/Donate

DATE: November 16, 2023

MEMO TO: Nels Leutwiler, Chair

Committee of the Board

FROM: Erika Stergos

Preservation Foundation Executive Director

RECOMMENDATION: Recommend a resolution nominating the 2023 Board of Directors of the Preservation Foundation

FINANCIAL DATA: No financial impact.

BACKGROUND: Under the bylaws of the Foundation, as amended on May 25, 2023, Directors of the Preservation Foundation are elected to a three-year term of service and approved annually by the Voting Members at the Annual Member Meeting.

The Foundation's bylaws state the number of Directors should be between ten (10) and twenty-five (25) members and should include two Lake County Forest Preserve District Commissioners, as appointed by the President of the Forest Preserves. The bylaws also state the Forest Preserve Executive Director shall be an ex-officio member of the Preservation Foundation Board of Directors with voting rights.

The Board of Directors approves a list of candidates, which may include additions to or deletions from the recommendations of the Board's Executive Committee, if any. The Board of Directors submits its approved list of recommended candidates to the Voting Members for election at the next Annual Member Meeting.

REVIEW BY OTHERS: Executive Committee

1899 West Winchester Road Libertyville, Illinois 60048 847-968-3110 • Fax: 847-549-7079 www.LCFPD.org/Donate

2024 Preservation Foundation Board of Directors

New Members Recommended for a Three-Year Term (January 1, 2024 - December 31, 2026):

- Jefferson McMillan-Wilhoit, Preservation Foundation Board Director
- Chad Waynee, Preservation Foundation Board Director
- Michael Tutty, Preservation Foundation Board Director

President (January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024)

• Nels Leutwiler (Third Term)

Members (January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2024)

- Charles R. Bartels, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)
- Chris Heier, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)
- Elizabeth S Hough, Preservation Foundation Vice President (Second Term)
- Andrea S. Moore, Preservation Foundation Secretary (Third Term)
- Robert C Shears, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)

Members (January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2025)

- Andrea L. Danks, Preservation Foundation Board Director (Third Term)
- James J Kirby, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)
- Billy McKinney, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)
- Pradip Sahu, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)
- Mary M. Vincent, Preservation Foundation Board Director (Third Term)
- Renee Arlene Young, Preservation Foundation Board Director (First Term)

Members (January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2026)

- Karen Hunter, Preservation Foundation Board Director (Third Term)
- S. Michael Rummel, Preservation Foundation Treasurer (Second Term)

Members (Concurrent to LCFPD Board Terms)

- President Angelo D. Kyle, Preservation Foundation Board Director
- Commissioner John Wasik, Preservation Foundation Board Director

Ex officio, voting

Alex Ty Kovach, Executive Preservation Foundation Board Director, Lake County Forest Preserves

Ex officio, non-voting

• Erika Stergos, Executive Preservation Foundation Board Director, Preservation Foundation

Names in *italics* are members renewing their service and starting a new three-year term.

STATE OF ILLINOIS)	
) SS
COUNTY OF LAKE)

VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION OF THE LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT NOVEMBER MEETING DECEMBER 13, 2023

MISTER PRESIDENT AND VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION:

Your PRESERVATION FOUNDATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD present herewith "A Resolution Nominating the 2024 Board of Directors of the Preservation Foundation" and request its approval.

PRESERVATION FOUNDATION BOARD:		
Date:	Roll Call Vote: Ayes:Nays:	
	☐ Voice Vote Majority Ayes; Nays:	

VOTING MEMBERS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION OF THE LAKE COUNTY FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS

A RESOLUTION NOMINATING THE 2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE PRESERVATION FOUNDATION

WHEREAS, the Preservation Foundation (the "Foundation") bylaws, adopted May 8, 2007 and amended on May 25, 2023 state the number of Directors should be between 10 and 25 members; and

WHEREAS, the bylaws also state that the Board of Directors shall include two Lake County Forest Preserve District Commissioners, as appointed by the President of the Forest Preserves; and

WHEREAS, whereas Lake County Forest Preserves President Angelo Kyle has selected himself and Commissioner John Wasik to serve on the Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the bylaws state that Lake County Forest Preserves Executive Director Alex Ty Kovach shall be an ex-officio member of the Preservation Foundation Board of Directors with voting rights; and

WHEREAS, the 17 other candidates for the Board of Directors were nominated by the Preservation Foundation Executive Committee;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED, by the Preservation Foundation Board of the Lake County Forest Preserve District, Lake County, Illinois that:

Section 1: Recitals. The recitals set forth above are incorporated as part of this Ordinance by this reference.

Section 2: Election of the Board of Directors. The Voting Members hereby elect 17 members of the board of directors: Charles R. Bartels, Andrea L. Danks, Chris Heier, Elizabeth S Hough, Karen Hunter, James J Kirby, Alex Ty Kovach, Angelo D. Kyle, Nels Leutwiler, Billy McKinney, Jefferson McMillan-Wilhoit, Andrea S. Moore, S. Michael Rummel, Pradip Sahu, Robert C. Shears. Michael Tutty, Mary M. Vincent, John F. Wasik, Chad Waynee, Renee Arlene Young.

Section 2: Effective Date. This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and approval in the manner provided by law.

DACCED this

PASSED this	_ day of	, 2023
AYES:		
NAYS:		
APPROVED this	day of	, 2023
		Angelo Kyle, Chair of the Preservation
		Foundation Voting Members
ATTEST:		-
JoEllen Carlucci, Secretary		
Preservation Foundation		